1. Home
  2. »Magners League


The Magners League is an annual rugby union competition involving regional sides from Ireland, Scotland and Wales. It is one of the three major leagues in Europe, along with the English Guinness Premiership and the French Top 14. The league champion is currently determined solely from league performance, however from the 2009-10 season, it is intended to introduce a play-off structure, similar to the Guinness Premiership.[1] It was originally known as The Celtic League (Welsh: Y Gynghrair Geltaidd[2]) The Magners League season takes place between September and May, with each team playing every other team on a home and away basis. Magners League matches avoid the traditional international weekends in November and during the Six Nations Championship. The Welsh, Irish and Scottish rugby unions now use the Magners League as the sole determinant for European qualification.

If you want to use any shirt logos please let me know and acknowledge that they came from RugbyTweets. I have painstakingly created these and would just appreciate a thank you.